{Five on Friday}

31 01 2014

Linking up with Darci + friends for a short and sweet {Five on Friday!}

Image

{one} My son’s school is always early on celebrating holidays with class parties, which keeps me on my toes! This weekend, we I put together Valentines for his class party. Every so often, I catch him trying to tear into one, so I know I’m on the right track with these for his toddler class! {Pin here.} They say, “So glad we’re in the same school,” and I paired them with individual cupcake-flavored Goldfish bags. We also made our Valentines Day brownies early so that I could share with a coworker!

***

{two} I have one lesson a year where I play my piccolo for my Kindergarten students while we read “The Boy Who Cried Wolf.” (In the story, he plays a flute.) Yesterday, I won over my preschool class with it! But now that I travel to classrooms, I have to be much quieter and subtle about it. I printed sheet music for “Let it Go” from Frozen this year, to switch it up from the normal Mario Brothers theme that I normally play. {No photo this time because it’s at school.}

***

Image

{three} When we visited Downtown Disney a few weeks ago, we went in Once Upon a Toy, where you can fill a bag with Mr. Potato Head parts for $20. I couldn’t justify a bag, but we did pick out a handful of Disney-themed accessories for my son’s Mr. Potato Head, intending to pay the “per-piece” fee for not buying the bag. Our cashier was so sweet and rang everything up for only $2 total! We played with our new friend when we were snowed in this week!

***

Image

{four} Yes, we enjoyed another snow day and more 2-hour delays this week due to another snow storm here in Virginia. My Stitch Fix arrived on the snow day, so I had fun trying on clothes while my son took a very short nap! Although I loved 4/5 items, I think I’m only going to get a few items from this box. I want to stick to what my credit will cover. Much better than my last box and about par with how much I loved my first boxWanna try this service? Create your style profile!

***

Image

\\via//

{five} Just as one of our favorite cloth diaper retailers, Abby’s Lane, closed her brick-and-mortar store (but kept her online store with free shipping and a stellar rewards program!), a small cloth diaper store opened nearby! We checked it out this weekend and enjoyed talking to the owner. I registered for the Great Cloth Diaper Change event in April. She does not carry the brand of diapers we use on our son yet, but I am so excited that a new color, “Hummingbird,” is being released in our favorite diaper next week just as we needed to replace a couple of his aplix diapers where the velcro is losing its stickiness. (Orrrr we may just replace the velco itself with snaps, but I need a good excuse to buy this color!)

Happy Friday! Looking forward to two trips out of town this weekend!


Actions

Information

11 responses

31 01 2014
Kristy Mays

Love it! I am doing the goldfish things for my students! Too funny!

31 01 2014
Devin

Adorable Valentines! and I hope you’re planning a review of your Stitch Fix – I’m contemplating trying it out after baby #2 is born.

31 01 2014
Ashley

I will at some point! I actually still have the box through tomorrow if you want to swing by to see what was in there! 😉

31 01 2014
RunningMOMentum

They will love them!

31 01 2014
Samantha

The goldfish are a great idea! I have been thinking about Stitch Fix too – so glad to hear you got a good box!! We won’t be going to Disney for a while (our son is only 2) but when we do, I will definitely be going to Once Upon a Toy! Thanks for sharing!

31 01 2014
Ashley

Thanks for visiting! I loved my 1st and 3rd boxes, and when I gave feedback for my horrible 2nd box, they gave me my credit back, which was nice of them! Here’s my referral link if you do choose to sign up! https://stitchfix.com/referral/3182570

31 01 2014
Tiffany @ This Whole House

Love the downtown Disney Pics!! I am praying for a trip there with our family sometime this year!! Happy Friday! Glad to be a new follower.
Tiffany
http://thiswholehouse.blogspot.com

31 01 2014
Cat

I just popped over from 5 on Friday and I’m enjoying your blog. I had never heard of Stitch Fix before. I’m working on losing the baby weight but when I do I might have to give it a try.

31 01 2014
Heather H

That’s a really cute diaper!! We are starting cloth diapers with our second baby, due in April, so I’m always on the lookout for new diapers!! Cute Valentines too!!!

31 01 2014
Ashley

That’s awesome that you’re starting cloth diapers! Congratulations on your spring baby! Let me know if you need help figuring out cloth diapers – there are so many choices and accessories out there!!

1 02 2014
Brenda @ Chatting Over Chocolate

What a fun week! I could go for one of your Valentine brownies right about now 😉 How awesome that you were able to add some Disney goodness to your son’s Mr. Potato Head for just $2!! Seeing those Mickey ears made me smile! 😀 … Thanks so much for the sweet comment you left me at Chatting Over Chocolate! It made my day to hear that you’ve been enjoying my Disney trip reports 🙂 I have so enjoyed your marathon weekend recap posts!!! I subscribe to your blog via email {& always smile when I see a new one hits my inbox!} I typically read them on my phone just before plugging it in and going to bed, so I’ve been bad about reading the post via email, but not thinking to stop back by your blog later and comment to let you know how much I’ve enjoyed your sharing! Thanks for taking the time to …it’s always nice to get a Disney fix via your posts! 😉 I’m getting ready to work on a trip report for this week that’ll share about our dining experience at Be Our Guest — I loved hearing about your experience there! I think it was fantastic how your server scooped up your plate when she could see your meal wasn’t your favorite and brought you out another dish …gotta love Disney 🙂
Wishing you and your precious family a terrific weekend!!

Leave a comment