2014 Disney Marathon Weekend Recap 5: Be Our Guest!

29 01 2014

Image

After running the inaugural Minnie 10k at Walt Disney World Marathon weekend, we headed over to Magic Kingdom to celebrate! View my full recap here! We booked a dinner reservation at Be Our Guest after doing much research on the atmosphere and menu. Our ADR was for 4:10 PM, which sounds early, but keep in mind that our mornings started at 2:30 every day of our trip! It was the perfect segue from our FastPass at Enchanted Tales with Belle right before dinner!Image

I was originally hoping we’d get seated in the West Wing, since I’d read that the dining hall was loud and dark, but I was pleasantly surprised by the ambience in the dining hall after all. We were seated by a window, where it delicately snowed outside during our entire meal! It was hard to believe we were eating dinner together without constant interruptions from our needy sweet little boy!

Image

Our table was also elegant with a nice rose-folded napkin and soft lighting. There was so much to take in, but our hostess had instructed us to eat first, and explore afterward. That put me at ease, so I felt like I wasn’t missing out on anything while I was eating!

Image

Even though I had already picked out what I wanted from their menu online, I changed my mind when I saw a new item added to the menu – the “Chicken Breast Provencal.”

ImageI noticed that the waitress didn’t say much when I placed my order, but she made a big dealing of saying, “Oh I love that! That’s my favorite!” when my husband ordered the “Thyme-Scented Pork Rack Chop” that came with a side of macaroni and vegetables. That should have been my first clue!

So then our food arrived.Image

My husband’s looked amazing. In fact, just looking at it again makes me hungry!! It came with a delicious Red Wine Jus for drizzling over the meat and vegetables. And the pasta was a good carb-load for his half marathon the next day.

And then there was mine:

Image

It looked okay – a little strange, but decent. I took one bite, and my face must have given me away. I remembered that the menu had mentioned something about olives (which I don’t mind), but that’s all that I could taste in the whole dish. Meat completely saturated in olive. I was now at that awkward moment where I could either say nothing and keep eating, or say something now instead of eating so that I wouldn’t have to pay for the unpleasant dish. Luckily, our waitress checked in with us just then, and when she saw me hesitate briefly after asking how i liked it, she scooped up my dish and said, “I completely understand. I think this dish is terrible. It’s the sauce. I would have said something, but when people order this specific dish, I just assume they know what they want. What can I bring you instead?” I was soooo relieved, because I am NOT the type to whine and complain and send food back. But I also knew this dinner was uber-expensive, and I couldn’t fathom eating another bite of the disgusting dish. So I quickly pointed at my husband’s dish as my choice. “Perfect!” She agreed, “And that one doesn’t take long at all.” Shortly afterward, she brought me a new dish, and I was happily eating away.

Off and on, the Beast would traipse across the dining room, taking visitors in his study. But before we visited the Beast, our dessert cart was brought over! How can you NOT order dessert when all sorts of yummy options are brought right to your table??

Image

My mind was already set on the “Grey Stuff.” (From the “Be Our Guest” song!) It has a crispy cookie crust with a grey puff of cookies ‘n cream panna cotta on top. It looks like it has changed since its original recipe and looks more like a bar cookie than a puff of icing on the plate. I’ve also seen it in cupcake form. Hubby ordered the Chocolate Cream Puff, also delicious. We finished with coffee, checked out the enchanted rose and portrait in the West Wing, and ventured into the study to meet the Beast!

Image

Check out my other Disney Marathon Weekend recaps!

Actions

Information

5 responses

29 01 2014
2014 Disney Marathon Weekend Recap 4: Running a Marathon! | Running MOMentum

[…] Be Our Guest restaurant review […]

29 01 2014
2014 Disney Marathon Weekend Recap 3: Magic Kingdom | Running MOMentum

[…] Be Our Guest restaurant review […]

29 01 2014
2014 Disney Marathon Weekend Recap 2: Inaugural Minnie 10k | Running MOMentum

[…] Be Our Guest restaurant review […]

29 01 2014
2014 Disney Marathon Weekend Recap 1: runDisney Expo | Running MOMentum

[…] Be Our Guest restaurant review […]

29 01 2014
Kristy Mays

This looks amazing! It’s on my list!

Leave a Reply

