Stitch Fix Review #3: Swing and a Miss!

21 12 2013

This morning started off with a long training run, but it was about 65 degrees out and HOT. When I got a text from my husband that my second Stitch Fix had arrived, I called it quits after 10 miles and headed home for a quick shower!

Image

For those new to the game – this is how Stitch Fix works:

Image

And then I dove in. It was love at first sight! I asked for more color, since my last fix was ALL gray, and I immediately spotted jewel tones. I also noticed that there were no accessories, and I saw at least one knit item, so I knew my stylist had honored those requests. And then… denim, which was a pleasant surprise! So excited to start trying everything on.

Image

Well… I thought Stitch Fix was supposed to get BETTER the more my stylist got to know me, but for someone who did such a fab job with my first box, Layla got it all wrong this time.

{ONE} La Made Weaver Mixed Knit Cowl Neck Top

Image

The cobalt color is very striking, and I had told my stylist that I love cowl neck pieces. So she got that right. But the armholes are super long, going halfway down my side, and there’s just a ton of thin material. I had asked for a tunic, so maybe that’s what she was going for? I decided to belt it and add a cardigan like the first picture suggests, and that helped a lot:

Image

Status: Sent back. 

***

{TWO} 41 Hawthorn Ivy Solid Tab Sleeve V-Neck Blouse

Image

(There was a lot of ink damage on my card. Not impressed. Also a spelling error in her personal letter that drove me crazy!)

Wrong. After my first fix, I had specifically asked for NO BLOUSES and NO hi-lo pieces, and this was both. I love tab sleeves, but the material is so heavy and loose that it doesn’t stay nicely rolled up for the tab to work, so they still drape awkwardly. The V-neck is very low-cut, and this piece was just… too big and frumpy for my taste. I had asked for form-fitting pieces.

Image

Once I put it on, it seemed vaguely familiar… like my homemade Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs ballet recital costume, circa 1999?? Dancing and lip syncing to N*Sync? Yes, that’s it!!!!

Image

Status: Sent back. Sent back FAST. As much as I loved that song.

***

{THREE} Ezra Camfield Ruffle Trim Striped Shirt

This piece had promise, since it looked like a stretchy knit. I love navy stripes. And then I saw the ruffles and I didn’t know what to think, but I kept an open mind until I put it on. It suggested pairing it with a cute skirt, which reminded me that I asked them to send me a cute skirt and they didn’t! (I actually thought this WAS a skirt, when I first saw the ruffles!)

Image

Image

Status: Sent back. I’m not a fan of the way it flares out like a lampshade into ruffles 360 degrees around. Unnecessary. Loved the sleeves.

***

{FOUR} 41 Hawthorn Ernesto Wavy Striped Dress

Image

Cute print, classic colors, and my stylist was SURE this would be my favorite piece – she called it “romantic.” I had asked for a dress (or cute skirt, remember?). It was form-fitting and flattering. But it didn’t actually fit me. And if it doesn’t fit me now, 21 days before my marathon and about an hour after running 10 miles, it honestly never will. Boo!

Image

Status: Sent back.

***

{FIVE} Kensie Jeans – Jeffrey Distressed Skinny Jean

After falling out of love with the first 4 items, I had high expectations for the last item so that I wouldn’t be out the $20 credit I used to order this fix. And it was a denim piece… maybe skinny jeans or a skirt? Love! So I just hoped that it would fit.

First glance: Hole in the pocket. Definitely okay, but already I couldn’t wear these to work on Fridays… but for a nice pair of jeans, I could deal.

Stitch Fix 12-21-13 14

And then I held them up. And almost cried. Distress everywhere. They looked straight out of the Juniors section. Ugh!

Image

Image

I absolutely love the wash. And the fit is PERFECT. At 5’1″, pants are usually too long for me, and these are just amazing! And soo comfortable. They don’t even hug my runner’s calves too tightly, like Old Navy skinny jeans. And they would pretty much be free with the referral credits I had accumulated from friends signing up through my link. I did a bit of research online, and the price is consistent with department stores. In this exact style, “Ankle Biter,” there is another color option, “True Blue,” a beautiful dark wash, that I would take in a heartbeat over this “Like a Rolling Stone” distressed jean they sent me. I really wish there was a way to undo that! Sooo frustrating!

This is my “are you serious, Stitch Fix??” face. People already think I look like a student – I don’t need to dress like one!

Image

Status: Reluctantly sent back. 

[Update: After receiving my disappointed feedback on my second fix, Stitch Fix contacted me to offer a new $20 credit toward a replacement box, which I’ll accept. The lady who contacted me also offered to personally style my next box. It never hurts to be honest!]

Wanna try Stitch Fix for yourself? Check out my previous reviews!

Stitch Fix Review #1 (October 2013)

Stitch Fix Review #2 (November 2013)

…So this is how referral works: Stitch Fix does NOT compensate me for writing this. (Obviously.) But if you’d like to try it for yourself, just go through my link and set up your style profile – so fun!! 🙂 I am going to schedule another fix, after I update my profile and Pinterest board with more-specific information!

Actions

Information

One response

31 01 2014
{Five on Friday} | Running MOMentum

[…] to get a few items from this box. I want to stick to what my credit will cover. Much better than my last box and about par with how much I loved my first box! Wanna try this service? Create your style […]

Leave a Reply

