Braids and Bows

4 04 2015

When I was little, I got it in my head somehow that I’d never be a good Mommy unless I could French braid hair. So I locked myself in my room with my dog-eared copy of “Braids and Bows” (1992 edition) and my Felicity American Girl doll and didn’t come out until I could successfully French braid Felicity’s hair and my own hair.

braids and bows

Somewhere in the next 20 years, I realized that being able to French braid has zero impact on my ability as a mom.

If only I knew then that I’d have two boys. I don’t know much about boy hair. I’ve relied on hairdressers for my toddler until this week, when I realized I couldn’t get him in for a haircut before Easter. So I turned to Youtube, where I learn ALL the important life skills. Like how to cut toddler hair. I watched this tutorial video (the one boy I could find who has hair like my son’s) and this adorable boy, made the trip to Sally Beauty, and set up shop at 7:30 AM.

I had coffee and a gameplan. And if all went well, I’d Youtube how to cut my own bangs. Since I didn’t snag myself an appointment, either.

IMG_2428

First, we washed and blow-dried his hair. Even though the tutorial suggested to save the bath for after the haircut, he needed one.

IMG_2427

We put on his cape and gave him some candy and an old phone – I quickly swapped the candy cane for a lollipop before I started cutting (sticky… loose hair… near-fail).

IMG_2429IMG_2431IMG_2433It’s so curly that it was hard to see what I was doing, but it also made it easy to hide imperfections. 🙂 Even still, I handed him over to his dad to neaten up the back with clippers (set at 7/8ths).
IMG_2439While I was at it, I watched a few videos about how to cut bangs (here and here) and decided to try my luck with my own hair. First, I straightened my old bangs as much as I could and figured out what I needed to cut.

IMG_2442

I practiced by cutting them longer than I’d ultimately want them, and once I figured it all out, I started over and made them shorter. When I finished cutting the length at an angle, I added texture by feathering them as I saw in the video. Easy enough – I can’t believe I’ve never tried that before!

IMG_2447

Now I can relax knowing that I won’t have to cart two kids with me to the salon anytime someone just needs a trim!

If I could talk to 10-year-old me, I’d reassure her that to be a good Mommy, I wouldn’t need Braids and Bows, or even this Youtube deal on a place called the internet… I’d just need lots of love, long-lashed butterfly kisses, and coffee.

Actions

Information

3 responses

4 04 2015
Kristy

Love this. I cut G’s bangs which isn’t always as pretty as I’d hope but they grow fast. I cut my own hair all throughout college to save money and I still trim my bangs now. It’s a good skill.

7 04 2015
RunningMOMentum

Definitely! I love my new scissors 🙂

10 04 2015
Five on Friday | Running MOMentum

[…] all abou DIYs when I can find the time. I even skipped the salon to attempt haircuts myself last week. Recently I made much of the decor for a bridal shower and returned what I didn’t use to the […]

Leave a Reply

