Easter Basket Blog Hop and a Confession

2 04 2015

easter egg blog hop logo - the good life blog

Linking up with Darci for my second annual Easter basket blog hop! This one is a special one, since it’s Sage’s first Easter! Both boys have gotten spring pictures taken and had an Easter party at school complete with an indoor egg hunt (roundup?) due to frosty, rainy temps.

IMG_2069

Photos courtesy of their daycare Facebook page:

Good Shepherd egg hunt 2015 - 2 Good Shepherd egg hunt 2015

And now, for the baskets! I try to be pretty thrifty, so most things have a story of where they came from. Oh, and no Easter grass! Not in our house!

For our 2 (almost 3) year old: Brand new gray Toms (Instagram score), a free book “Pretend” (Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library program), Pez and scented bubbles (Target), a Crayola art smock and Silly Putty (free with Staples ink rewards), a kazoo and pinwheel (recent party favors we got at a museum), ring pop and stuffed bunny (both from his class Easter egg hunt), gold coins (extra from a recent bridal shower gift), tan shoes (free with JC Penney coupon/clearance sale), 4 crayons (restaurant kids meal), and tiny bubble bottles (Halloween). There might be a few other prizes down in the bottom of the basket.

IMG_2366

For our 6 month old – a basket full of almost all hand-me-downs! I did buy the bear PJs new (free with a JC Penney coupon) and the colorful egg stackers from a friend:

IMG_2371

And a confession: In last year’s blog hop linkup, I mentioned that “I also went to Michaels and bought just one more basket to match our family set of gingham baskets – a green one to match E’s! We won’t use it until next year, but I wanted to get it just in case Michaels discontinues them or something.”

I lied.

We actually bought a pink basket! Because at the time, we had been told Baby #2 was a girl, and I wasn’t ready to reveal the gender!

So it was back to Michaels again this year and bought a green basket for our BOY. I guess I could have just made a new liner, but the basket only costs a couple dollars after discounts.

This year, we’ll spend Easter with my family. I love knowing that our church family, as well as the boys’ school, are helping us to teach them about God’s love for us.

IMG_2330

Actions

Information

8 responses

2 04 2015
simjoblo20

Cute baskets! Love those gingham liners.

7 04 2015
RunningMOMentum

Thanks! Michaels has carried them every year for at least 6 or 7 years, which is nice as our family grows!

2 04 2015
Cat @ MaryMarthaMama

You lied! :0 That is a funny story. Thanks for sharing!

7 04 2015
RunningMOMentum

Haha thanks for reading! 🙂

2 04 2015
elbranch

I love how thrifty you are!! Teach me some of your tips:)

7 04 2015
RunningMOMentum

Haha thanks! I think that will be the theme of my 5 on Friday this week!

6 04 2015
Easter Sweets | Running MOMentum

[…] 2015 Easter Basket Blog Hop […]

10 04 2015
Five on Friday | Running MOMentum

[…] But if I can collect things over time as I come across them, I can get good deals. The kids’ Easter baskets, for example. Almost everything was […]

Leave a Reply

