Sugar and Spice | Bridal Shower DIY

31 03 2015

I remember a summer when my husband and I attended 13 weddings. In recent years, I’ve mostly attended baby showers, but 5 weddings this year means it’s back to the bridal shower circuit!

For the first shower, we based the decor around the couple’s wedding colors – purple and teal – with hints of Mason jars and wine. We used purple and blue Mason jars wrapped in ribbon as utensil cups, pen holders, kabob displays, and table centerpieces.
I filled six of the jars with roses crafted from coffee filters. The roses were so simple to dye and shape around drinking straws but looked so life-like!
IMG_2351
IMG_2261
Using free paint chip cards, I made confetti for the tables and added purple doilies. The tablecloths were leftover from a work event, and I found teal burlap runners at WalMart. My mother-in-law and sister-in-law fashioned favors by filling 4-oz Mason jars with Easter M&Ms and Hershey Kisses.
IMG_2257

For the drink table, I designed this “SIP SIP hooray” art similar to one I spied on Pinterest.

IMG_2258
IMG_2259

For the wine-loving couple, I created wine bottle advice jars. My husband and I emptied four wine bottles and removed the labels. I found scalloped cardstock stickers and labeled them “1 year anniversary,” “5 year anniversary,” “10 year anniversary,” and “20 year anniversary.” I picked up a mini chalkboard easel from Michaels and wrote on it with chalk pens borrowed from a fellow teacher. Guests could write advice for any year, roll up the paper, tie it with teal Baker’s twine, and drop it in the appropriate wine bottle.

IMG_2263

Bridal shower - 1My husband and toddler used the helium tank at our local car dealership for the balloons, even stuffing some balloons inside clear balloons for pops of color.
IMG_2269

The couple registered using HoneyFund.com, so I purchased an excursion for their honeymoon and gave the money to them in the form of gold US dollars (mixed with chocolate coins) nestled in a chocolate box.

IMG_2263
Gifts were recorded on a keepsake list I designed and printed on cardstock.
IMG_2264

Using scrapbook paper, I die-cut larger circles and attached them to Baker’s twine to make 2 garlands.

IMG_2206
IMG_2379
My in-laws made all the food and served fruit kabobs, popcorn, veggies, cake pops, and flower cookies.
IMG_2268

For dessert, I used a recipe for Peanut Butter Fingers borrowed from a coworker and actually delegated that task to my husband when I got overwhelmed between shower planning and several huge projects at work. I’ve made them for several occasions now.

Bridal shower - 3
We had lots of shower games, from toilet paper-fashioned wedding dresses to a cake-guessing game. I brought an easy estimation game. We filled a giant wine glass and wine carafe with corks – some of the corks were mine (we write the date and occasion on all our corks), and I got the rest from our friend who is the head chef of a local winery.
Bridal shower - 2
Peanut Butter Fingers – I can’t take any credit for this recipe, since I borrowed it from my friend at work! 🙂

Peanut Butter Fingers

Base

½ cup margarine ⅓ cup peanut butter

½ cup sugar ½ tsp. each baking soda, salt, vanilla

½ cup packed brown sugar 1 cup flour

1 egg 1 cup quick oats

Icing

powdered sugar (play around with amount)

¼ cup peanut butter

3-4 tablespoons milk

1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350.  Cream butter and sugars, add egg, peanut butter, baking soda, salt, and vanilla.  Add flour and oatmeal.  Mix well. (Batter will be stiff.)  Spread in a greased 9X13 pan.  Bake 18-20 minutes.  Don’t over bake – just lightly brown.  Remove from oven and sprinkle with chocolate chips.  Let stand while you make the icing.  For the icing: mix peanut butter, powdered sugar, and milk.  If it’s runny, add more sugar; if it’s too thick, add more milk.  Spread melted chocolate chips and top with PB icing.  Let the chocolate cool before spreading the icing or they’ll mix (tastes the same either way).

IMG_2265

 

Time to start planning the next bridal shower. I can’t believe how much longer preparations take with 2 little ones at home!

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 04 2015
Kristy

Stunning!

7 04 2015
RunningMOMentum

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

