Hot Chocolate and Glowsticks | A Winter Wedding

14 01 2015

We are excited to celebrate lots of family weddings this year, starting with my little brother’s wedding this past weekend in Williamsburg, Virginia. I have been to dozens of weddings, and this one was one of my favorites.

Long before the wedding, I began planning what my family would be wearing. I wanted to find a dress that was nursing-friendly (that didn’t happen) and several outfit options for my kids in case of accidents or spills. I found an outfit I liked on Pinterest (photo top right) and modified it slightly for E.

1-1-15 wedding

Jacket Belk | Shirt E’s closet | Marsala cords Target | Bowtie Etsy | Aviators Amazon Christmas stocking stuffer |

Shoes JC Penney clearance 48 cents

My parents were in charge of the rehearsal dinner, and it was beautiful and delicious. I had prime rib, and our table was upgraded to a fancy dessert when they ran out of the dessert we originally ordered. No chocolate mousse left? Yes, I’ll settle for chocolate lovin’ spoonful cake please – layers and layers of chocolate fudge! My table had wayyy too much fun. My brother made the rounds, which felt like we were at a Disney character breakfast. “It’s Jordan!!”

1-9-15 rehearsal dinner 2

The next morning while everyone was getting ready for the wedding, I went outlet shopping. We got the kids dressed at the last possible second (read: in the church parking lot) to avoid messing up their clothes in the car. Thank you, first wedding with a toddler and infant. Sage wore copper moccs from MWA and a one-piece cardigan/bowtie/onesie from Target. Ironing the quarter-sized bowtie might have been the cutest thing I’ve ever done.

1-10-15 wedding 3

IMG_0793

Sage was awake for most of the ceremony and stirred just as the new couple had their first married kiss, so my husband ended up informally leading the wedding party’s recessional when he rushed out with the baby. After the ceremony, I searched the church for an unlocked room where I could nurse Sage and made it back just in time to jump into our family picture with the newly-married couple!

IMG_0781

My husband snapped this photo before the photographer added in about a dozen more people!

The reception was held nearby and featured a taco bar, hot chocolate bar, a real bar, glow sticks, and lots of dancing! There was also a Go-Pro on an industrial selfie stick, corn hole, monogrammed decor to sign, and lots of other Pinteresty ideas. I had so much fun dancing, and so did my kids!

1-10-15 wedding reception

1-10-15 reception 2

Even though we are 4 years apart, my brother and I have always been super-close, so I knew I’d regret it if I didn’t make a speech… here’s my toast!

IMG_1817

1-10-15 reception 3

My mom made my niece’s flower girl dress to coordinate with the bride’s.

1-10-15 reception 4

My grandparents won the dance for longest married couple — 66 years! My family and I were out by Round 2.

1-10-15 reception 5

They played the cutest trivia game ever – they know each other REALLY well!

1-10-15 reception 6

And the sendoff! Congratulations, Jordan and Rachel!

Actions

Information

One response

16 01 2015
Five on Friday | Knots and Knits | Running MOMentum

[…] on Saturday in Williamsburg! I loved getting the boys all GQed up for the big day. Full recap here. So happy for my brother and his […]

Leave a Reply

