The Biggest Blessing

5 01 2015

Today I’m heading back to the land of commuting, daycare, pumping, washing bottles, and packing lunches — yep, I’m officially back to work.

I went into labor just hours after work on Friday, September 26, 2014, and it has been my greatest blessing to stay home these last 13 weeks. There were times when I lost my patience and times I felt overwhelmed, but in between were the sweetest moments I have ever experienced. The most precious time of my life. All because of two little boys. We’ve celebrated the new baby, Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years during the course of my maternity leave. For 13 weeks, I’ve gotten used to a new “normal,” with my schedule based solely on the demands of my boys and rarely on what I need to get done. We’ve had scares – a car accident that leaves me paranoid to drive, plus lots of sickness that kept us indoors, but we’ve also  been able to do so many things that I wouldn’t have been able to do had I been at work: playdates, library story times, trips, open gym, crafts, baking, daily lunch with my husband (or getting things done while he’s home), nursing the baby on demand… and midday giggle sessions like this:

IMG_1750

One of my favorite times of day is in the (hours) gearing up for naptime. It’s usually a battle, and they rarely nap at the same time, but we’ve gotten into daily routine of sweet, quiet moments rocking in the dark that I will never forget.

IMG_0579

I’m going to miss this.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

