Countdown to Halloween: parades, parties, and peak leaves

28 10 2014

Linking up with Sweet Turtle SoupThe Chronicles of WeCocktails & Carseats, and Tickled Pink for Countdown to Halloween!

Sweet Turtle Soup
We enjoyed so many seasonal traditions this weekend. I’m glad we’ve been able to get out and about with our 4-week old! We’ve been so blessed that he’s healthy, our toddler is adjusting well to his new brother, and I’m feeling great – I wouldn’t want to miss out on my favorite season!
On Friday, we participated in a parade put on by the local toy store. I sewed E a Peter Pan costume and put together a Mickey Mouse costume for the baby. After the parade, we stuck around for storytime in the dark, followed by goodie bags and glow sticks!
IMG_1114
IMG_1118
IMG_1124
On Saturday, we were up early to join my husband’s family for a hiking/camping trip! Witnessing the fall foliage peak while driving through the mountains was breathtaking! I missed this trip last year to run a half marathon at the beach but am so glad I could go this year!
IMG_1130
Our campsite, blanketed by a canopy of colorful leaves, overlooked the river.
IMG_9110
IMG_9111
IMG_9119
IMG_1149
IMG_1158
I mean seriously… can we move here??
IMG_1160
The glassy water was ideal for rock-skipping, which we did while watching a wedding on a nearby dock.
IMG_1166
IMG_1175
IMG_1179
IMG_1182
IMG_1194
IMG_1198
IMG_1199
IMG_1204
IMG_1218
IMG_1220
Letting him throw acorns and leaves over the waterfall. Mom-of-the-year.
IMG_1228
IMG_9123
On Sunday, we headed to church for our annual Harvest Party. This year the theme was Dr. Seuss! They really go over-the-top, complete with bounce houses in the sanctuary, cake walks, photo booths, trunk-or-treating, train rides, and as much <free> fried food as you can stomach!
harvest party
^borrowed photo… just one of the many decorated areas!
IMG_9138
My family made snickerdoodle cupcakes to donate to the church’s cake walk. Later, I actually WON A CAKE! (This was a big deal for me because while I’ve always been lucky at winning stuff, I never won the cakewalk in elementary school so it was kind of a bucket list thing for me.)
IMG_9142
IMG_9161
IMG_9171
IMG_9180
IMG_9189
Holding on to the last week of October while it lasts!
Actions

Information

4 responses

28 10 2014
Kelly Mock

Great pics! So cute!

28 10 2014
Courtney

The costumes!!! The giraffe is so cute, and so easy! I love easy and cute.
And, I’ll move there too – how beautiful! Is it far away?
Thanks for linking up this week!

29 10 2014
Jenny

That campsite looks totally awesome! I’ll move there too! Those cosutmes are so cute – how awesome you made them! Looks like a fun festive time! Thanks for linking up this week!

30 10 2014
Halloween Costume Party! | Running MOMentum

[…] far, we’ve paraded in our costumes and trunk-or-treated in them. We’re excited for Halloween tomorrow! Here’s a flashback […]

Leave a Reply

