Pumpkin Patch 2014

7 10 2014

Friday was the last day of “vacation” (baby leave) for my husband, so our family of 4 jumped at the chance to explore a local pumpkin patch on a weekday, sure to beat the October weekend crowds. It was perfect, and there were plenty of pumpkins and gourds to take home and only about 2 other people in the entire patch.

Pumpkin patch 2014 - 1

I’ve heard about this pumpkin patch for years but had never been. On an honor system, you can pick as many pumpkins/gourds as you can fit in the wagon they provide, and it only costs $25! We had a great time finding all sorts of novelty pumpkins, perfect pumpkins, and colorful gourds. I learned that pumpkin stems and vines are very thorny. My newborn slept the whole time, and my 2-year-old just about lost it and wanted to be carried most of the time when he wasn’t spotting pumpkins or loading up the wagon.

Pumpkin patch 2014 - 2

IMG_8310

IMG_8326

IMG_8347

IMG_8353

IMG_8362

IMG_8363

My Boba 3G is perfect for carting my newborn around – I’m so glad he’s loving babywearing so far! I’ve worn him to church, out shopping and to get groceries, and on walks around our neighborhood. It feels so good to be out and about, and I can’t wait to beginning running again in November!

Eventually we’ll carve, paint, and/or eat some of these pumpkins, but for now I just set up little displays around the house since there are so many!

pumpkins 2014

 

Happy fall!!

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 10 2014
oh hey | five on friday | Running MOMentum

[…] three | While my husband was home last week (on baby leave), our family visited a local pumpkin patch. This one is really fun – you can load up a whole wagon for only $25! I’ve heard they sell out fast, so we went early in the season and on a weekday to avoid the crowds. Worth it. Recap here! […]

21 10 2014
Countdown to Halloween | Scary pumpkins and 300 sorority girls… | Running MOMentum

[…] Today I’m recapping some fall trips we’ve made as a family. 🙂 We’ve visited a pumpkin patch and our local fall craft festival, and we added two festivals over the […]

Leave a Reply

