oh hey Friday! Linkup | Nursery Sneak-Peeks!

11 07 2014

Linking up with Karli today, one of my favorite bloggers, for a newish Friday linkup she’s hosting with the farmer’s wife. I just love Karli’s writing style PLUS she’s also having a fall baby, so it’s been fun reading her bumpdates.

Today’s theme? Five sneak peeks of our baby boy’s rustic nursery-in-progress!

oh hey! ONE |

I had my mind set on a rustic-looking throw pillow for the nursery glider, and I was drawn to burlap. But burlap is by no means soft for rocking a baby. So I worked up a burlap design on my computer and had it photo-printed onto a smooth pillow. You can’t see it, but the moose is carrying a newborn like a stork. I blocked out his name because it’s a surprise! And it was practically free with coupons.

burlap throw pillow OHF1

***

oh hey! TWO |

My husband designed, built, and painted shelving for the closet floor, and we removed the doors (and rearranged furniture) to create a much more open play space in his room. We bought the matching crates from HomeGoods.

closet reno OHF2

Taking inventory of baby clothes was such a trip down memory lane! Newborn clothes are so tiny!

IMG_0192

***

oh hey! THREE |

My sister gave us a really nice wooden nursery dresser, and I’ve been itching to try out chalk paint and clear wax. I selected CeCe Caldwell’s “Sedona Red” on a whim, even though I had every intention to use “Duck Egg Blue”  by Annie Sloan. I bought wooden spheres at Michaels, and my husband drilled holes, added hardware, and tied monkey fist knots around them with twine to make custom drawer-pulls.

dresser reno OHF3

IMG_0203

***

oh hey! FOUR |

So this little kid, whether he likes it or not, already has 6 “in utero” races under his belt. I’ve been able to acquire these 4 medals to hang just for him in his room! The Disney Marathon, the Shamrock Marathon, the Girls on the Run 5k, and the Run for the Dream 8k. Missing are the Minnie Mouse Inaugural 10k medal and the Vine to Wine 5k, which didn’t come with a medal. Hook rack from HomeGoods!

IMG_0197

***

oh hey! FIVE |

We finally secured two free pallets for some additional nursery wall art! So excited to see this project come together to tie in all of the other elements!  E and his daddy cleaned them up the other night and now we’re just waiting for them to get weathered. Oh, and I also bought a miniature wooden ladder from a flea market to hang on the wall.

IMG_0204

Happy Friday!

 

 

Actions

Information

4 responses

11 07 2014
Katelynn

Super cute!!! I use Mason Jars to store everything in. Love them.

11 07 2014
Amy Johnson

Thanks for linking up gal! I can’t wait to see what you do with those pallets. I love a good diy!!!

12 07 2014
sweetlittleones

Such a cute nursery! I love the pillow idea 🙂 I might have to try the chalk paint… It looks awesome!!

12 07 2014
Race Recap: Summer Extravaganza 10k | Running MOMentum

[…] a mental note to return to. I had just been looking at Banana J tee-pees yesterday online for our nursery but decided against them because of the […]

Leave a Reply

