E’s 2nd Birthday!

7 07 2014

We had much to celebrate this weekend between the 4th of July, my son’s birthday, and my birthday! Here’s a recap of E’s 2nd birthday party!

birthday 7-5-14 - 2

Photo credit: KM

The theme | I chose trains because E exclaims every time he hears our local train pass through our town. It was a super-easy theme for decorations and invites, too!

Birthday shirt | My mom made E a really cute birthday crab shirt to wear at his 1st birthday party, so this year I was hoping she could make something similar to fit the train theme. Not only did she make him the cutest little shirt with his name, but she also embroidered a few other shirts as presents! (I’ve edited out his name just for the blog’s sake.) She designed the shirt from this little sketch I texted her and then came up with color suggestions based on her template. Thank you, mom!! 🙂

birthday shirt edit

The food | We kept it simple with animal crackers, Oreos, kettle corn, a veggie tray, chips/dip, watermelon, 3 varieties of meatballs in the crockpot, and cupcakes. We served lemonade, sodas, and water. I loaded most of the finger foods into little pans I found at Target and labeled them as train cars, and used a Disney train for the engine. I cut out wheels I printed from my computer and taped them on.

DSC_0006

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

Inspiration here.

DSC_0009

DSC_0016

Drink inspiration here, but my husband came up with the other drink labels.

DSC_0015

The cake | I also wanted to keep his cake simple this year because last year’s cake took me most of my birthday to decorate. I bought 4th of July icing and mix while it was BOGO free at Target. I consulted Carolina Charm’s cupcake decorating tutorial, and went to work.

Cupcakes 7-5-14

After a quick search on Pinterest for the best way to easily display the cupcakes, I engineered a Brio train track around our dining room table and built train cars as platforms for the cupcakes. The platforms were made from toothpicks, marshmallows, and graham crackers. Super easy! I fashioned all this right before the party, although E and I baked the 4 batches of cupcakes the night before.

DSC_0003

DSC_0071

DSC_0005

 

birthday train cake 7-5-14

Photo credit: KM

The guests | We were so blessed to celebrate with lots of friends and family! One sweet family we invited couldn’t make it because they were busy delivering a baby of their own, who now shares a birthday with E!

 DSC_0033

DSC_0012

DSC_0030

DSC_0039

While everyone else was outside, I came in to find E eating lunch with his great-grandparents, just the 3 of them! So incredibly sweet!

DSC_0013

The decor | I hung two homemade birthday train banners, and most of the other decorations were around the food. I setup two train tables. We hung balloons around the inside and outside of the house. My husband got huge red/white/blue helium balloons off the cars at a local dealership (with permission). We put canopies and chairs outside with the corn hole, ladder toss, playground, and water table. I also filled an apothecary jar with our old wooden Brio cars.

Birthday banner 7-5-14

Birthday banner - edit

At a local park, I photographed E running around inside a toy train and in a train station that happens to have our last name on it, then cut out those pictures to make one of the train banners.

DSC_0078

My husband also surprised me with an angel food cake he made with E for my birthday, which was the next day. His buddy (a firefighter) lit all 30 candles while my brother blocked my vision, and I don’t know who started the singing, but it was all very sweet! The cake was demolished with just one tiny scoop of leftovers!

birthday 7-5-14 kissy

birthday 7-5-14

Photo credit: KM

Thanks to everybody who came over to celebrate our sweet little boy! Thank you notes to come soon! 😉

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 07 2014
Week 29 | Bumps and Wiggles | Running MOMentum

[…] moments this week: So many! 4th of July fireworks, E’s 2nd birthday party, my 30th birthday, holding my friend’s […]

28 07 2014
Mariah Olson

Hi Ashley,

My name is Mariah Olson, and I am a representative of Birthday Express. My job is to search the internet for outstanding children’s birthday blogs that deserve recognition. When I came across your party for your son E’s birthday, I knew immediately that there was a great deal of time and effort spent on this celebration! The special details that you included like those beautifully decorated train car platforms and cupcakes. I have never seen something like those platforms before…that was ingenious! I really like the bread foils used as train snack cars as well.

On behalf of Birthday Express, we would like to offer you our “Best Birthday” badge for throwing such a sensational party. Congratulations–you and your little one deserve it! If you are interested, let me know at mariaholson12@gmail.com and I’ll send it your way. Again, congratulations, and thank you for your time!

Best Regards,

Mariah Olson
http://www.birthdayexpress.com

Leave a Reply

