Three decades

6 07 2014

I love, love that I share back-to-back birthdays with my son – his is the day before mine! So while I reflected on him turning 2 this weekend, I’m also reflecting on turning 30!

Image

I could think back to high school to things I might have done differently, but I’ve been able to do so many awesome things during my 20s (and before) that I really don’t have regrets.

Image

Travels before 30 | Ireland, Canada, Kalispell Montana and Glacier National Park, Grand Canyon, Las Vegas, Utah, Arches National Park, Four Corners, Disney World x3, New York City (a lot!), Panama City Beach FL, Myrtle Beach (a lot!), OBX (a lot!), New Orleans, Chicago, mission trips to Jeremiah Project x2, Kinston NC, Brooklyn, Charleston, New Orleans, Homestead Resort – Hot Springs VA, Atlanta, lots more!

Image

Image

Image

Cool experiences | Helicopter tour over the Grand Canyon, hiked Arches National Park, rode a segway around Chicago with my best friend, did a handstand on the Four Corners, held an alligator, did the Busch Gardens Roller Coaster Insider Tour, ran 5 half marathons (Disney Princess, Charlottesville Half, Shamrock Half, Crawlin Crab, Myrtle Beach Mini), ran the Disney Marathon and the Shamrock Marathon, rode an elevator to top of Empire State Building and the Hancock Observatory, served as President of the UVA BSU and Alumni Committee, pet sharks, climbed the Statue of Liberty, ran a Spartan race, ran countless 5ks, 4-milers, 8ks, and 10ks, spun the Price is Right wheel, shot clay pigeons x2, camped out at Chick fil-a’s First 100 event, served as camp counselor, took ballet for 13 years, gave tours at Colonial Williamsburg for 8 years…. and so much more!

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Medical | Spinal fusion, 4 wisdom teeth out, 3 pregnancies (1 baby, 1 miscarriage, 1 on the way), hit by a deer, stepped on 2 nails, nursed my son for 18 months

Image

Milestones | Became an aunt, graduated UVA, graduated William & Mary, got engaged, got married, rented first house, started first school counselor job, built first house, started new job, adopted 2 dogs, lost 1 dog, miscarried, had a baby, joined one church, joined a new church, dedicated our baby boy, owned 4 cars, became pregnant with a second son.

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

 

Image

Hobbies | reading, jewelry-making, blogging, photography, running and races, Bible studies, teaching Sunday School at church

Image

…So what’s next for my 30s…? I don’t need to fixate on what I want to do next, because most of the adventures I’ve had were not things I planned a decade in advance. We’re fairly spontaneous except when it comes to growing our family and planning big trips! Oh, and running marathons. Because that took 9 months.

  • I think it’s safe to say that I definitely want to have a baby once I turn 30, and take a long (14-week) maternity leave to be home with my 2 boys…

Image

  • I really want to go on a hot air balloon ride. I won a tethered launch at school when I was 13 that got canceled due to rain, and both of our hot air balloon rides over Las Vegas were grounded due to high winds. And just recently for our 6th anniversary, they wouldn’t let me because I’m pregnant. So this is the closest I’ve come:

Image

October 2010

  • I would love to travel more – London, the National Parks in CA (Redwood, Sequoia, etc.)
  • Run more half marathons. Not making any commitments to run another full just yet!

Image

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

