Baby skin | Essential Oils

26 06 2014

Since he was just a few months old, my almost-2-year-old son was diagnosed with a mast cell disease called “urticaria pigmentosa.” I try not to Google it because the images that come up do NOT look like what he has and are the extreme cases. Basically he has flat brown spots all over his body – on his head, tummy and back, neck, etc. The doctor never seems concerned and says it’s something E will outgrow. Although rare, toddlers usually outgrow it by age 2, but if it lasts into adolescence, it can cause problems with daily functioning. And same into adulthood.

Image

 

Urticaria Pigmentosa (UP)

Sometimes the spots flare up, raise up, change colors, or change intensity. Which scares me. So finally, at his last appointment, I was more proactive in asking the doc what specifically I could do, and he suggested 2 rounds of bloodwork and said we’d follow-up on the results at his 2-year checkup.

Image

So imagine my surprise when the doctor personally called me at home with the results this week, weeks before his scheduled appointment. At first I panicked. I was just sure it was cancer. But he reassured me that his blood counts are all okay, the chemistry was okay, and nothing was elevated for the skin condition he has. He recommended following-up on a regular basis, which we have been doing. He said no further tests are needed at this time. I didn’t realize how much I’ve worried about this over the last 2 years until I hung up and burst into tears of relief. I prayed and I prayed and I thanked God for good news.

I had also always wondered if his skin condition had something to do with using cloth diapers and the products associated with cloth diapering (diaper creams, etc.), so it was a relief to know that we’re still doing what we feel is best for our family and this is a diagnosed, unrelated condition.

I went to a class this weekend on using Essential Oils, which really got me thinking about using essential oils for everyday use, not just with the baby products we’ve chosen to use on E’s skin. I was curious, so I peeked again at the ingredients in a lot of the natural products we use and was happy to see that many of them do contain essential oils:

Image

 

Plantlife lavender foam soap | My mom bought me this Lavender hand soap because my husband is allergic to sulfur. The ingredients include: coconut oil (a good carrier for using Essential Oils), aloe, lavender Essential Oil, tea tree Essential Oil, and vitamin E.

Image

 

CJ’s BUTTer | We use these products as cloth diaper cream because they are safe and don’t ruin cloth diapers. I use the creamy body lotion in the winter to cure my cracked hands. Some of the ingredients include:

Blueberry Crumble Creamy Lotion and cloth diaper cream, Coconut Lime diaper cream: shea butter, coconut oil, olive oil, lanolin, beeswax, cocoa seed butter, vitamin E, oatmeal

Image

Earth Mama Angel Baby Shampoo & Body Wash castile soap | organic aloe, orange essential oil, vanilla essential oil, shea butter. I also picked up all of those samples at my local Great Cloth Diaper Change event this year, which is also where I picked up the free sample of cloth wipes solution below:

Image

 

Homemade cloth wipes solution | castile soap, vegetable oil, melaleuca alternifolia (tea tree) essential oil, lavender essential oil

Image

 

Preggie Pop Drops | Includes Essential Oils of Raspberry, Lemon, Apple, and Tangerine

I’m not affiliated with or endorsing any of these companies or products, and I am just starting to explore the use of incorporating other Essential Oils into my family’s lifestyle, other than the ones we already use and love. But because I do really like all of the products above, I hope that I will be able to intentionally incorporate more of the oils — perhaps Thieves for cleaning, Peppermint and Lemon for a variety of things, and Lavender for soothing and healing.

I am researching how I might be able to use these oils on my son’s skin, besides the CJ’s BUTTer that we already use. I’ve read that Sandalwood could offer some relief, but unfortunately it’s over $100 for 5 ml… ouch. Or maybe Thyme.

I really enjoyed the class I attended and am considering inviting her to come host a party at my house. How do you incorporate Essential Oils into your life? I am excited about reading more of this book for the best oils to use during pregnancy, childbirth, and on my infant and toddler.

Actions

Information

4 responses

27 06 2014
lmsimmons13

Ashley,
Charlotte does not have anything like this but she does have awful eczema. We have to be super careful of sunscreen we put on her so beware now that it’s sunscreen season. My favorite brands are babyganics, badger, and the whole foods store brand. It’s thick and contains a lot of zinc, but it’s a safer skin approach for those who have skin sensitivities. Just thought i would mention it!

27 06 2014
RunningMOMentum

Thanks! I will check those out 🙂

23 02 2015
Samantha pintos

Hello,
My 6 month old has Urticaria Pigmentosa
I was was just reading your blog.
And wondering how your son is doing? Did he grow out of it yet? Or have less spots?
Thanks
Sam

23 02 2015
RunningMOMentum

Hi Sam, thanks for reading! No, he hasn’t outgrown it. In fact, I’d say there are more spots, covering pretty much everywhere covered by clothes and his hair. Not on his arms or legs though. He’s 2.5 years now, and was diagnosed when he was about your child’s age. My pediatrician only has 2 patients with it, and E’s is significantly milder than her other patient’s. Hope this helps! You’ll have to keep me posted on your little one!

Leave a Reply

