{Five on Friday}

30 05 2014

Linking to Carolina Charm and friends today to kickoff Friday! The theme of today’s {Five on Friday} is 5 leaps of faith I’ve taken recently.

Image

||via||

Image

{one} Coaching Girls on the Run – This year, I started a site at the elementary school where I work, recruited 14 enthusiastic/skeptical girls, and co-coached them to complete their first 5k. It required a lot of faith in startup and then sacrificing countless hours from my family after school, but we are excited to celebrate their end-of-season successes with a pool party next week! I’ve passed the torch for next season to 2 good friends who will be amazing coaches while I’m on maternity leave. My co-coach and I applied to present at a state-wide counselor association conference about the Girls on the Run season that we coached. This will take place 8 weeks after my son is born!

***

Image

{two} Running a marathon during this pregnancy. And then another. {26.2 miles apiece – I didn’t go halfsies.} Collecting these medals for my little boy’s nursery. Hoping to earn him another medal tomorrow!

***

Image

{three} Signing up to teach Sunday school for the summer. Without indicating an age preference to teach, I left it open for where God needed me. Which, as I anticipated, was with preschoolers. After attending a prayer breakfast at Panera the week before, one of the sentiments that stood out to me was when our children’s minister said, “We need to get on our knees and pray for the hearts of these children.” I knew then I needed to listen for where God could use me the most.

***

{four} Switching from using doctors to using midwives. I’ve never blogged my birth story (it’s safe in my paper journal), but for me personally, I’m a believer in trying to stay as intervention-free as possible during childbirth. My preferences have a lot to do with my spinal fusion as a teenager and all the years of interventions I’ve had since so that my spine could support the weight of carrying a pregnancy to term. (I’ve been told twice that it couldn’t.) I was so blessed to have a healthy natural/med-free/intervention-free delivery the first go-round, but I had to advocate for it. Justify it. And the thought that I may have a different doctor this time around who may not be as agreeable was creating unnecessary stress on me. So I switched to a practice where the type of childbirth experience I hope to have is supported more readily. And God only knows how delivery will go and what might be needed, but if it’s one less thing to stress over now, I’m happy!

***

maternity leave

||via||

{five} Time with my newborn. I’ve run a lot of numbers and had a meeting, and I’ve decided to take the full 12 weeks of FMLA maternity leave I’m entitled to in the fall, half of which will be unpaid. The way my due date lands just before the holidays, I will return to work when my newborn is around 14-15 weeks old, twice as old as his brother was when I returned to work after having him. Because of the conference I mentioned above, I will be actually taking intermittent maternity leave so that I can professionally present at the conference and count those as paid workdays in the middle of my weeks of unpaid leave.

Steve Jobs

||via||

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

