{Five on Friday}

23 05 2014

Linking up with Carolina Charm for {Five on Friday}!

 

Image

{one} We have been working each night on E’s closet makeover as part of the nursery we are designing for the new baby. The theme of the new nursery will center around this gorgeous crate (and a wall hanging) we picked up at HomeGoods… now if only we could find a match for the crate, since we custom-built shelving to fit it! (We have searched online, Amazon, eBay, Michaels, RedLaser and other barcode apps, Target, Bed Bath & Beyond, Pier One, Pottery Barn, other HomeGoods, TJ Maxx, and Marshalls with no luck!) I may have to post to the HomeGoods blog for help. I’m trying to avoid making one because I don’t want the nursery to smell like stain! I’m also using reclaimed wood, burlap, and Annie Sloan chalk paint as inspiration.

***

Image

{two} On Monday, I took a huge bag of stuff from my office to Goodwill. I’m trying to pare down before our new counselor arrives in the fall and I go on maternity leave! I then treated myself to a half-priced Happy Hour strawberry limeade at Sonic. I have yet to find something I really like there, though. Suggestions? I’ve tried everything! Even E didn’t like the limeade after begging for a sip!

***

{three} I also managed to squeeze in making a wedding video for a coworker this week. It’s going to be a surprise from the parents played during their daughter’s ceremony, so I’ll hold off on sharing the link but they LOVED it. I used to make all the videos for my school back before I had a toddler running around… I forgot how much I love it.

***

I am in Preschool

{four} On Wednesday, I attended a training to be a Sunday School teacher for 2.5-4 year olds for the entire summer… it’s going to be an adventure! I’m so grateful the lessons have tons of activities and materials to choose from that will fill the hour with good things!

***

5-23-14 Blue Mountain 2

{five} On Thursday, we toasted my friend and co-counselor, Jenn, as she leaves our school to accept a full-time position at the other school where we have been sharing her for the past 4 years. We held the dinner at a fun local brewery. The sun setting over the mountains was gorgeous, the lights on the terrace were peaceful, the soft breeze felt amazing, and the conversation was full of laughs. A perfect evening for a girls’ night out! And the waiter didn’t even try to entice me to order a beverage because he picked up on my pregnant belly right away!

And then I still got to come home to rock my little boy. All is right in my world. ❤

5-23-14 Elijah 2

Happy Friday! And enjoy your long weekend if you have one! We’ll be celebrating our  annual “Patriotism Day” (and snow make up day) at work by having our students gather at the flagpole for a few patriotic ceremonies.

Actions

Information

8 responses

23 05 2014
Paige @ Reasons to Come Home

Love your inspirations for the nursery! I bet it’s going to look awesome when you get finished! Happy Friday!

23 05 2014
Ashley

Thanks!! Happy Friday!

23 05 2014
Bekah Bruce

Can’t wait to see your nursery! Love crates like those! Maybe make one?? 🙂

23 05 2014
Ashley

That will definitely be our last resort, but do-able!

23 05 2014
Amber Elliott

Just found your blog. Can’t wait to see more of the nursery. 🙂

23 05 2014
Ashley

Yay! Thanks for reading!

23 05 2014
Liz @ Fitness Blondie

How fun being a Sunday school teacher! I bet you guys will make some wonderful crafts 🙂 that was always my favorite part of church, haha! The teachers were really creative!

23 05 2014
Ashley

I like crafts. 🙂 The curriculum we’re using has tons of great ideas – games, movement, music, puppets, crafts, you name it! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

