Shamrock Marathon Sports & Fitness Expo: Recap

17 03 2014

We got up early and headed to Virginia Beach on Saturday for the Shamrock Sports & Fitness Expo. Along the way, we stopped at a scenic overlook for this view: 

Image

After visiting with my parents in Williamsburg for a bit, we drove to the Virginia Beach Convention Center for packet pickup and Expo. I always love parking at the convention center because they have designated hybrid vehicle parking! 

Image

Packet pickup was easy enough – no lines or crowds. Our first stop was the Shamrock Store, which houses the official event merchandise. I bought a sticker and last year’s half marathon shirt because it was on clearance. I have the 2013 shirt from running it last year, but it was always too big to wear, so my husband found an extra-small buried in one of the clearance bins. I like having event tech shirts, and it was only $5. I also bought a 26.2 Shamrock Marathon sticker. 

Image

Then we headed into the main part of the Expo! There were a ton of excellent race vendors, from nutritionists, to race vendors, to running merchandise and a speaker series; Bart Yasso, CRO of Runner’s World spoke while we were there. There are lots of freebies and coupons to be had and lots of food samples! We made a pre-dinner snack of McCafe smoothie samples, Post cereal samples, and more! We shopped around and found a good deal on GU, so we tried a few flavors we’ve been wanting to try: Peanut Butter and Salted Caramel. For it being gel, they were yummy on race day!

There were a few vendors I had planned to visit. At SPIbelt, I proved that I liked them on Facebook for a discount on a double-belt that I needed for the next day’s marathon (my current belt only had one pocket, and I needed two). 

Image

My husband and I each signed up for 2 local races that we’ve done several times before: Run for the Dream 8k this summer and the ChristmasTown Dash 8k in December, both in Williamsburg. We were able to get discounted Expo rates for each event.

Image

 

I also browsed the SweatyBands booth, One More Mile, and was disappointed to see that Raw Threads was not there. But there were so many other great vendors! We entered a few contests and spun a few wheels for freebie prizes. 

After Expo, we headed back to Williamsburg quickly to meet my parents, brother, and his fiancee for a pre-race dinner at Olive Garden – yum! Then it was (relatively) early to bed for our 3:50 AM wakeup call! 

Next up: Race recaps! For the local newspaper’s coverage of the event, click here!

Actions

Information

One response

18 03 2014
Race Recap: Shamrock Marathon and a Reveal! | Running MOMentum

[…] headed out for our long drive back to Virginia Beach. We had just been there for the Shamrock Expo (recap here!) the night before, but luckily we got there early with no traffic and were able to park on 19th […]

Leave a Reply

