{Five on Friday}

28 02 2014

As I try to thaw from this week’s wintry weather, today I’m reminiscing of the rare 65-degree weather we savored over the weekend! We have a tradition of grilling shrimp on the first warm day of the year, so we enjoyed that Sunday! Linking up with Darci and friends for {Five on Friday!}

Shadows

{one}

We wore SHORTS and hiked the greenway of a local park along the river on Sunday. (Just for comparison, yesterday I wore SmartWool socks, Cuddlduds under my pants, 3 Northface layers, gloves, and a sweater. With soup for lunch.) The greenway was only about 2 miles, but it was a gorgeous day, so it was nice to relax and really talk while our toddler zipped along between us, exploring the river path. He ran almost every bit of the 2 miles!

***

Kidsburg

{two}

We took a very short overnight trip to my hometown over the weekend. While there, we were able to soak in the very last rays of sun at my favorite park before evening set in. We go to this park every time we’re in town, but never just as a family of 3, so it was nice to be able to experience that together and really see the park through our son’s eyes for the first time. Especially since we had our first semi-official date there back in 2006! (Well, at the version of this park that my 5th grade class helped build in 1995 before the city recently tore it down to build a brand-new one!)

***

Kidsburg 2

{three}

Did I mention that my 19-month-old LOVED the park?? It was hard to keep up with him!

Kidsburg 3

***

Williamsburg

{four}

He also loved every precious minute with his Grandma. See how clingy he is there? That’s pretty much how he was the entire weekend – ignored me, clung to Grandma. So sweet. 🙂

***

Baby shower

{five}

Spring also brings with it baby shower season! Tomorrow I’m going to my 3rd in a month. Last weekend, we traveled to my college friend’s shower in Hampton, Virginia… she is having a girl! I could tell a lot of thought went into her shower… there was a Pinterest-inspired mimosa bar, a make-a-bow station for the baby complete with hot glue guns, ribbons, headbands, and beads, an adorable printable to fill in for an album, and sweet treats to take home. The mimosa bar had the cutest juice carafes, lots of  fruits to mix in, and an assortment of bubbly and fun paper straws. Oh, and don’t be fooled by her diaper cake there. It is supported in the middle with a giant bottle of vodka!(!!)

Happy Friday! I am so ready for the weekend!