{Five on Friday!}

24 01 2014

Happy Friday! Link up with Darci here for {Five on Friday!}

Also, the first of my two guest posts on the Running at Disney blog was published Wednesday, check out my runDisney 10k recap here!

***

{one} We’ve had four snow days this week! We’ve played in the snow, enjoyed hot chocolate, and made snow cream, something my mom always made for us on snow days growing up! When we needed to get out of the house, we walked around Target to find a baby shower gift and had a free lunch at Chick-fil-a! The cashier at Target was sweet to load my cart up for me since I had a toddler with me, but he forgot a bag, so I had to go back to Target to retrieve it later. We also celebrated a lot of family birthdays on Thursday night at my in-laws’ house after my chiropractor appointment.

Image

Image

{two} E had his routine 18-month checkup Wednesday. Because of our snow days at work, I didn’t have to use a sick day to take him after all! They forgot to document our appointment in their computer, so our doctor wasn’t there, but they let us see another doctor and we really liked him, too! My little man is about 50th percentile for height and weight but is still holding strong at 97th percentile for head circumference. In addition to his 6 teeth, he has 2 top molars coming in. Because he did such a great job at his appointment, I gave him a sticker, which he shredded up in the car on the way home.

{three} We also stopped by a few libraries this week. E is enrolled in a “1000 Books before Kindergarten” program, so we had to get more logs to record all the books we’ve been reading! We also picked out a nice selection of Valentine’s books and started logging hours for the winter reading program.

Image

{four} I caved and ordered a simplified planner from Emily Ley! I’m excited because it goes right along with my organization goals for 2014 and offers a place to keep a weekly gratitude journal and a meal-planner. I think when I stopped nursing, *some* of that forgetful “mommy brain” finally went away. Or maybe I’ve just tried to be more on-top-of-things and take better care of things since I can now remember where I put them. I keep a binder to manage E’s school papers and artwork, a binder to keep track of our household paperwork, and a few new binders at work to keep track of appointments and daily to-do lists (in addition to software that I use for records). This has helped so much with my memory and organization!

Image

{five} If we ever go back to work (today is our 4th snow day in a row!), my friend and I are starting up a “Girls on the Run” after-school self-esteem building program for our students. Hopefully we can send home the registration forms soon! I put everything in teachers’ boxes on Monday, but we haven’t been back since! This will be a huge time commitment – coaching 24 after-school sessions over the course of 12 weeks, culminating in a celebration 5k at a college here in Virginia. I’m hoping we have enough girls sign up to make a team!

Image

Actions

Information

8 responses

24 01 2014
Kristy Mays

I really enjoyed coaching GOTR! I think you will too 🙂

24 01 2014
Brenda @ Chatting Over Chocolate

Your snow days sounded amazing!! Your little man looks so adorable all bundled up – love the lit’l hat, and the snapshot of his snow covered sneakers is way cute!! Wishing you and your family a beautiful weekend!

24 01 2014
rychellyfoltz

Insanely jealous that you have had 4 snow days! Here in FL we get a big fat nothing. Its been so lame! Hope you enjoy your free day home 🙂 Happy Weekend!

24 01 2014
RunningMOMentum

That’s so funny! I was in Florida two weeks ago and I was so jealous of your weather!! I wore shorts and flip-flops most of my trip!! 🙂

24 01 2014
Samantha

Your little guys is so adorable! Happy snow days! I hope we get some here in Charlotte… we had a two hour delay for cold temps but nothing beats some fresh snow in the south! I wanted to order the Emily Ley planner but they were out so I got the binder for the house and I’m going to hold out on the planner for next year. Can’t wait to see if you like it! Stay warm!

24 01 2014
RunningMOMentum

Thanks for visiting! I can’t believe how many snow days we had – our county is huge, so it’s hard to clear all the back roads. I was bummed that Emily’s planner was sold out, but she just posted more this week (looks like some are still available)! I won’t get it til mid-March, but I’m still so excited!

24 01 2014
April of A. Liz Adventures

1000 books before kindergarden, I absolutely LOVE that idea!

24 01 2014
A Mother's Pace

I love the GOTR program! I try to do both of their 5k races each year in our area and some day I’d like to get involved even more. The library is one of our favorite activities. We have a great story time that we are able to go to each week.

Leave a Reply

