{Five on Friday}

17 01 2014

After a week off from {Five on Friday}, I’m joining up again with Darci this week! A little background: Each Friday, she and 3 of her friends host a linkup party. You grab her button (html code), add it to your blog post, write about 5 random things going on in your week or 5 things you love, and then go back to her page and link your blog to hers, leaving your blog name and thumbnail for others to see. For example, last week she had 403 ladies link up their blogs to hers, so we can read as many as we want. Today is my 18th linkup:

Image

{one} I’m a little behind on things after being in Florida for a week, and that’s okay! It’s okay that I didn’t watch the Bachelor, didn’t touch BlogLovin, rarely checked email, and went on Facebook only to post a few pictures during our trip! I actually liked it! It was nice to enjoy a week with just my husband, as crazy as that sounds coming from a mommy. I have my mother-in-law to thank for that, since she kept my sweet boy all that time! We were so BUSY all day every day that I just wanted to soak it all up and not miss a thing while we were there, and it was perfect! It helped knowing that he was having a blast at Nana’s, and that our trip would have been completely different had we not been sans toddler. I mean, who wants to run 26.2 miles carrying an extra 25 pounds of wriggly boy during bedtime and naptime?

***

{two} I am officially a marathoner!Image

Can I please put that on my resume now?? I have been training since summer ’11, and now that I’m all trained-up to run long distances, I don’t know where to go from here! I don’t want to lose it! I’m contemplating signing up for just one more full in the near future, to see what my time would be if I did not stop for pictures with Disney characters and to ride Expedition Everest with a train full of marathon runners at the halfway point! (Many more posts on my runDisney race weekend to come!). runDisney knows how to put on good races, that’s for sure! I think it was the ONLY place that motivated me to train for a half marathon, and then a full marathon a year later!

***

{three} This picture. Our family and my sister’s friends took home a HAUL of bling. 296.5 miles run in 4 days between 8 people. And I was responsible for 32.4 of those miles! And my husband for 39.3 of them! 28 medals in all!

Image

{four} I have a zillion pictures to go through, and I have a hard time sorting them on my new Mac. I end up with lots of duplicates when I do blog edits. I need to be better about figuring out a system for sorting and USING my pictures this year! I was really good about it before I had a baby. (Photobooks, blog posts, videos, posting on Facebook, etc.) I mean, otherwise, I’d miss out on remembering gems like this one!

Image

{five} My little boy is just that – a BOY! He doesn’t seem so fragile to me anymore as he was bodyslamming me and steamrolling me all evening last night. Well, until bedtime when he got extra-cuddly. I’m so glad I have a sweet little cuddly boy! It’s amazing how he has changed in only a week! His voice sounds a little different, and he speaks a lot more clearly now.

Happy Friday! I won’t know what to do with myself this weekend without a long training run!! Maybe scope out our new local running shop??

Actions

Information

10 responses

17 01 2014
Kristy Mays

I’m so proud of you for reaching your goal!!! I can’t wait to get together to hear all about it! This accomplishment deserves a brag book 🙂

18 01 2014
RunningMOMentum

Thanks, Kristy! 🙂

17 01 2014
Chesson Parker

Congratulations on your marathon! & all that bling – wow!

18 01 2014
RunningMOMentum

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

17 01 2014
Emily

That’s incredible! Congratulations on your marathon! I think it should go on a resume too. 🙂

18 01 2014
RunningMOMentum

Haha yes!! It totally should… I mean, I use it to motivate my students to set and reach goals for themselves, so I could easily make it work…! Thanks for reading!

17 01 2014
Erin Bell

Wow, congrats on that achievement!! A disney marathon sounds like so much fun!!

18 01 2014
RunningMOMentum

Thank you! It really was fun! Disney made sure that there was entertainment to keep you going through every mile, from character photo ops, to fun mile markers, and even opening up Expedition Everest for us to ride! Plus thousands of spectators along the way. I highly recommend runDisney races. Thanks for visiting! 🙂

17 01 2014
Leslie

WOW!! Look at all of those medals. Great job on your marathon achievement!

18 01 2014
RunningMOMentum

Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

