{Five on Friday}

20 12 2013

Linking up with Carolina Charm + friends for {Five on Friday}! Today is my last day at school until 2014! I had sooo many late nights at work this week between meetings, Christmas programs, and clothes shopping for my students, so I’m looking forward to some time at home!

***

Christmas book

{one}

I am SO looking forward to making memories and continuing family traditions this holiday season! We actually record them in a “Christmas Memories” book that my husband and I received as a wedding gift. It is heartwarming to look back at the ways we celebrated Christmas as newlyweds almost six years ago, and each year all the way up until now. Some of the traditions we’ve continued have silly origins, and others are treasured traditions from the “glories of Christmases long, long ago.” The book provides spaces to log about special meals, visits, visitors, gifts, family pictures, Christmas cards, and other events we want to remember.

***

Silhouette 8

{two}

In case you missed it, we took our 17-month-old to get his silhouette cut at our local toy store last weekend! What an incredible experience! I am still in awe of how the artist could look at E and freehand cut a perfect little silhouette in just a few minutes!

***

ChristmasTown Dash

{three}

My husband, brother, and I ran the ChristmasTown Dask 8k at Busch Gardens last weekend. It was well-worth being postponed a week to have better weather, although the course was still extremely slick. I was very happy with beating my time goal and earning my sparkly finisher’s medal!

***

Christmas wreath

{four}

I am enjoying reading Christmas cards from family, friends, and my students and adding them to my Christmas card wreath that I made last year! I started using this as an easy way to display our cards. I keep a small felt bag on the door handle to collect the envelopes so that I can update addresses later.

***

Polar Express Day

{five}

Thursday was “Polar Express Day” at the school where I teach, a tradition for our students. Every year they can opt to spend their positive behavior reward “bucks” on admission to watching The Polar Express, which comes with permission to wear PJs to school! They can also buy a hot chocolate pass, and the principals deliver the hot chocolate throughout the day right to their classrooms! It is ADORABLE to see how proud the kids are of their PJs… and the teachers love getting in on the festivities, too! I sent my son to his daycare in his new winter PJs today… just for fun! His class had their Christmas party today, and I’ve discovered that sugar does NOT agree with his attitude.

{Happy Friday!!}

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 12 2013
Kristy

I love the Christmas Memories book. I wish we had started that earlier on. We have one that we will keep now that we have G. Can’t wait to see you!

20 12 2013
RunningMOMentum

See you tomorrow!! Can’t wait!! 🙂

21 04 2014
Gallivanting around Busch Gardens | Running MOMentum

[…] we took a family day trip to Busch Gardens. We get 4 free tickets a year through races that we run (ChristmasTown Dash and Run for the Dream). We also had free roller coaster Quick Queue passes that we picked up from […]

9 12 2014
Christmas Town Dash 8k at Busch Gardens | Recap! | Running MOMentum

[…] last weekend for our 4th year running the Busch Gardens Christmas Town Dash 8k! (Brief 2013 recap here). I love running through the park. The medals are always so pretty (doubling as ornaments), and we […]

Leave a Reply

