{Five on Friday}

13 12 2013

Happy Friday the 13th! Today I’m joining Christina, Darci, Natasha, and April for the usual {Five on Friday!} linkup they so graciously host! In the midst of messy handprints, sweet snuggles, and toddler boy LIFE in general- it’s a great reason to pause each week, flip through my photos, and be thankful for 5 sweet “anythings” from my week!

***

Christmas 00

{one}

On Monday, I went to get the ingredients to make festive mini donut snowmen for my coworkers plus items for 2 other dishes. When I couldn’t find candy corn for the noses, I improvised and  separated out 45 orange Mike ‘n Ikes from the bulk candy section of our local grocery store using the provided one-pound candy scoop. Ordinarily, I would think this was weird, but I spent my college summers working in a candy store, and people asked for this sort of thing all the time (“I’m decorating a baby shower cake; I only want the pink ones…can you dig them out?” or “I’m making wedding favors, I only want white Jordan almonds…”).

Christmas 5

***

photo-2 Bambi

{two}

Our dinner on Monday was a deer meat stew that my husband’s boss made. Our toddler kept asking for more “Bambi” – although he technically was asking for the veggies – he mostly refuses meat. (Thankfully, he doesn’t know who Bambi is yet.) I described the taste as “manly with hints of cedar.”

So Tuesday I cooked – Pioneer Woman meatloaf wrapped in bacon!

Meatloaf 1

***

Christmas cards 2

{stolen idea}

{three}

After laboring over addressing my Christmas cards this year (see my photo above), I stacked them by my front door so that I could take them out to the mailbox when I got a chance to brave the ice storm later. My Jack Russell took it upon himself to shred up some that were already finished. It was one thing to destroy my Cardstore cards, it was another to mess up the pretty envelopes I had addressed! Didn’t get a Christmas card from me this year? My dog probably ate it. 😉

***

Disney 1

{four}

Our Disney MagicBands arrived! Airlifted overnight straight from Cinderella’s castle itself (or Waverly Barn Road in Davenport, FL if you want to get technical about it)… it’s as if Santa himself stopped by!

***

Ice day

{five}

I got to spend 2 days with my little man this week due to snow ice days! I soaked up every waking minute of it. We painted ornaments in the morning, watched the *brief* dusting of snow fall before his nap, and cooked together when he woke up. Please could every day just be a snow day??

Actions

Information

5 responses

13 12 2013
Elise

Disney magic bands?!?! I feel like I need to know more about this. They sound so magical!! Love how you addressed your cards…I did mine the same too! 🙂 Merry, merry! xx

13 12 2013
RunningMOMentum

Aren’t they cute?? I don’t know much about them except that they were FREE, customizable (color/name), and link up all of our reservations at Disney – dining and park tix. I could have had them deliver to the resort or to my house, so I chose my house.

13 12 2013
Jennie

Those snowmen donuts are adorable! I would love for you to come link up with me today!
http://thediaryofarealhousewife.blogspot.com/

13 12 2013
RunningMOMentum

Thanks for reading! The donuts were fun and EASY! I linked up on your blog – thanks!!

15 12 2013
Delicate Silhouettes | Running MOMentum

[…] I meant to give E a bath and comb his hair before we left, but he napped until it was time to leave, so I threw a comb in my back pocket and a plaid collared shirt over his bright orange Puma tee. I figured colors wouldn’t matter, but shape would, and I just prayed that whatever stickiness in his hair would comb out later. (Snowman donuts, perhaps?) […]

Leave a Reply

