Winter Festivities Chalkboard {DIY} and a visit with Santa!

23 11 2013

I came across this chalkboard background last night – online, not Pinterest! (But I pinned it right away!) Using picmonkey, I jotted down some of my family’s favorite winter pastimes, blending my and my husband’s favorite childhood traditions, plus ones that we’ve established since we’ve been together over the last 8 Christmases.  Word to the wise… I framed my first draft, and the words were cut off, despite the 8×10 template I used… so I made it again, this time leaving a perfect border – and it fits! I’ll share a pic of it on the wall once I finish embellishing the frame just the way I want it. 🙂

Family Christmas Traditions

We’ve already checked “Breakfast with Santa” off our list! This morning, I took E to have breakfast with Santa at the elementary school where I work, an event put on by our PTA each year. My husband couldn’t join us because he had signed up to hike the local ski slopes with a connect group from our church. {As it turned out, the hike got canceled when only 3 guys showed up, so one of the hike leaders took them on a private plane ride instead! Lucky!!}

Meanwhile, we visited with Santa. As expected, it went over extremely well: Breakfast with Santa 2

Breakfast with Santa 1

I actually thought it was kind of cute, but Mrs. Claus kept wiping away his tears, and I tried sitting on the floor with him and handed him a candy cane, which he clenched in his tiny fist while we visited Santa, shopped in the Christmas store, and played on the kiddie playground. I’m just glad we took him to Disney World to meet Mickey when he was too little to be scared yet! I’m sure we’ll try again with Santa a few more times this season… after all, it’s on our list now!

Actions

Information

One response

6 12 2013
{Five on Friday} | Running MOMentum

[…] you have toddlers or pets, I’m sure your tree is top-heavy like ours!} My chalkboard DIY is here. My coworker, our school’s art teacher, made me the “candy dish” of truffles as a […]

Leave a Reply

