{Five on Friday}

8 11 2013

I’m enjoying the Virginia Counselors Association conference for work at The Homestead Resort and Spa right now to finish out my work week (rough life!).

Homestead 1

My friend and I split a room – she is a counselor, too. This is only my second overnight trip away from my sweet little boy, but he is in wonderful hands with his daddy. Separate blog post to come, for sure!

Joining Darci, April, Natasha, and Christina for their weekly linkup!

***

Expo 2

Expo 3

 {one}

My husband set up a booth at a craft expo this past weekend selling his handmade paracord bracelets and had a very successful first show! I walked around with lil E, who charmed every crafter he encountered. His favorite booths were the Scentsy-type booths where he wanted to smell every individual scent! Adorable! Many dealers took a liking to him and gave him free stuff! He came away with lots of free little trinkets – a handmade wooden car, a beloved book, and even a 10-year-old porta-potty that once belonged to one of my current 5th grade students… E was pushing it all around the expo as if it were a jet ski! (Grosssss!)

Expo 1

***

November table

 {two}

Halloween is over, and I’m not ready to decorate for Christmas, but I found a way to decorate my dining table for the pre-holiday transition! I snagged the shimmery gold pumpkins and striped vase on clearance at Michaels after Halloween last week for 80% off. I typically pull this table runner out for Christmas, originally purchased at HomeGoods. The dark mirrored-finish vases were on clearance there a few years ago. Before this, my dining room table was littered with baby utensils, newspapers, crumbs, coupons, and even towels and clothes (too embarrassing for a before picture, even!) – and this new décor has been sooo relaxing!

***

birch

 {three}

Speaking of décor, I was able to bring home two bags of beautiful white birch branches that fell neatly outside my office door during a recent storm. My husband and I love birch because it reminds us of our honeymoon at Glacier National Park in Montana. I have a few ideas from Google on how to whiten the bark, and I have several thoughts on displaying the pieces in our house for winter. What are your suggestions? {Keep in mind that we don’t have a fireplace!}

***

crazy hair day

{four}

My son’s school had wacky hair day/pajama day on Tuesday. He’s only 16 months, but we did the best we could with hair gel, and I was SO happy (a bit teary, even?) to discover that his strawberry blonde hair might just be curly like his momma’s as it gets longer and fills out! The middle picture was taken before church on Sunday, serving as the baseline here in this trio. 🙂 I.love.this.kid.

***

finish

{five}

Marathon training is in full swing – 10 weeks to go!! – and on Sunday, I ran over 20 miles! Recap here. It took me just under four hours. I’m excited to do a bit of running around the Homestead property this week for a change! (Is it weird that I’m excited? Maybe I’m just excited to be at a resort?)

Have a great weekend! I am off to cheer hubby at a half marathon Sunday!

Actions

Information

4 responses

8 11 2013
Rebecca Jo (@RebeccaJoKnits)

My husband is obsessed with those paracord bracelets… I’m not sure I understand what they are – but they are EVERYWHERE!!! He even got me a pink camo one 🙂

8 11 2013
RunningMOMentum

Haha aww! My husband made me a pink camo one to wear for Duck Dynasty day at the school where I work. They’re popular, but can be used in a pinch if you need rope! He usually weaves 10-25 feet of paracord (parachute cord) into each bracelet, and one strand can support the weight of 550 pounds!

9 11 2013
Sara

Hello from the link up! I love your gold
Pumpkins, what a good deal! Good luck with your marathon training! I also work in an elementary as an assistant principal. Elementary kids are the best!

22 11 2013
{Five on Friday} | Running MOMentum

[…] few {5 on Fridays} ago, I posted about all the beautiful birch logs that I recovered from work after a storm. My […]

Leave a Reply

