A bittersweet memory of Mickey Mouse

28 09 2013

Mickey Mouse and I go way back, albeit a bittersweet memory. When I was seven, my sister and I traveled to Disney World on a special trip with our grandparents. On this trip, I didn’t have a fancy autograph book like the one I made for my son on Shutterfly (below) for his first trip to Disney; I had a small white notepad of tear-off squares of paper, which I dutifully toted around each park from character to character (this was in December of 1991, before any designated character spots), collecting almost every character’s name, except… the elusive Mickey Mouse Himself.

Image

I was in line outside to meet Mickey at an impromptu character meet & greet when someone cut in front of me in line. A cast member then cut the line off behind that person, since Mickey had to leave for a parade.

I…was…crushed. Heartbroken. I was SO bitter that someone had cut me in line, and that Disney had clipped the velvet rope (at least, that’s what I remember them using to block me from the Mouse Himself) RIGHT in front of me, when it should have been my turn to meet him.

For the next 21 years, I harbored a bittersweet memory of Mickey Mouse, until my next trip to Disney in February 2013. I had two things on my Bucket List for this trip: 1) Meet Mickey to get his autograph. 2) Run my first half marathon. In that order.

I was completely overcome with emotion when I finally met Mickey, and when my (then) 6-month-old got to meet him. I even teared up a bit as I approached my pal Mickey for the first time at the age of 28.

Image

Image

Image

Image

On my next trip to Disney, I have a new goal: to wear a Mickey medal after completing my very first marathon. It’s SO fitting that Mickey is on it and that the whole medal has a more “classic” look to it! I am so excited that some lucky folks who got sneak peeks of the 2014 Marathon weekend medals shared their pictures of Disney’s newest bling a few weeks ago – extra motivation! And now RunDisney has released photos on their Facebook page as well.

Disney medals 1

{via}

My husband and I will be attempting 5 of these medals!

Disney Medal 2

{via}

Disney Medal 3

{via}

You’d better believe two of those medal pictures will be printed, cut out, and taped to my treadmill in the next few weeks! The Princess medal was a sparkly incentive to train for my first half, and now I’m training to bring home Mickey and Minnie for my collection! Right next to this, of course.

Image

Related links:

Running Happily Ever After

Running at Disney

Actions

Information

5 responses

28 09 2013
Becky {this is happiness}

So glad you finally got to meet Mickey! Good luck with your marathon training!

30 09 2013
RunningMOMentum

Thanks so much!

30 09 2013
Rebecca Jo (@RebeccaJoKnits)

On my bucket list is to run ANY of the runDisney races! I MUST be buried with a Disney medal!!!! 🙂

30 09 2013
RunningMOMentum

They are like nothing else!!

19 01 2014
2014 Disney Marathon Weekend Recap 3: Magic Kingdom | Running MOMentum

[…] at Magic Kingdom by 10:45 and snuck in a quick visit with Mickey Mouse, my favorite character (my bittersweet explanation here), at Town Square […]

Leave a Reply

