{five on friday!}

20 09 2013

Linking up with Darci et al. from The Good Life Blog for 5 on Friday! This week’s post is brought to you by the letter “S,” in honor of September! Thanks for stopping by!

{one: sunset}

I drove over the mountain in awe of this divine masterpiece the other day:

Image

{two: spine}

On Tuesday, I headed back over the mountain again for my regular chiropractor appointment. My hubby offered to handle a major all-day vet appointment for our Jack Russell Terrier and the dropoff/pickup of our toddler from school so that I could go solo. The therapy session was incredibly relaxing (it isn’t always), and my doc got a fancy new table for adjustments. It felt like a plush wave machine… I was stretched and rolled without any harsh manipulations, although I tend to like those. And true to my word, I did not tell him about my recent participation in the Super Spartan race.

Friday 2

{three: school picture day}

Thursday was School Picture Day for my son! I just thought the whole concept was  so cute. He only just turned 1 and they’ve already had Dinosaur Day, 2 class birthday parties, and Picture Day! The director said he took his photos very seriously, which probably means he’ll need a retake next week for not smiling. We get the proofs later today!

school picture day 1

{four: snake}

This little guy (pictured below, not above!) was born in one of the classrooms at my school. Under a teacher’s desk, I do believe. And not as part of a science lesson. I work in a very, very rural pod school. The kind where groundhogs have tea parties outside your classroom and mice fall from ceiling tiles.  If you don’t like snakes, I suppose you’ll be relieved to hear that he was accidentally eaten by someone’s cat later the same day, although it saddens me to think of it. Poor little ring neck!

Image

{five: spaghetti variation}

I’ve never liked spaghetti, but I did make this variation on spaghetti this week called braided spaghetti bread. I’ve made it a few times now, and it never disappoints! It’s very easy and is such a warm, cheesy comfort food – an Italian dinner all in one bite! Even my toddler loved it! I rolled out 16 thawed Rhodes dinner rolls after kneading them together, then filled the dough with spaghetti, sauce, and mozzarella cheese. I cut and braided the side pieces of the dough and and brushed the whole thing with a mixture of egg white, parmesan, and parsley. One of my family’s favorites! We’ll enjoy it again tonight before our long training runs tomorrow.

braided spaghetti bread

braided spaghetti bread 2

I hope you have a wonderful, blessed weekend!

Actions

Information

8 responses

20 09 2013
Sarah Grace Chastain

that little snake gave me the chills! i hateeeee snakes!!!
happy friday!
xo, sarah grace
http://www.gracefullymadedesigns.com/blog

21 09 2013
Whitney

I will definitely have to make that spaghetti bread!!! My mouth is watering, it looks beyond delicious! 🙂
Whitney

21 09 2013
RunningMOMentum

You should definitely try it! It’s so easy and yummy! Thanks for reading!

21 09 2013
Amy

O.k….so your spaghetti bread looks delicious. I think I need to try it!! I used to teach 2nd grade before I quit to stay home with baby number two and I cannot imagine having mice fall out of the ceiling or baby snakes in the room!!!!! The pandemonium that would break out!! 🙂 Haha! Cutest baby in the world on your header! Sweetness. Amy 🙂

21 09 2013
RunningMOMentum

That’s awesome that you can stay home with your little one! My header is my son at 2 weeks old – my sister is a wonderful photographer, we are so blessed that she caught those precious moments for us! And yes! I guess critters come with the territory of a rural school! Definitely not what I am used to!

22 09 2013
Kathryn

Your little guy is adorable!!! Oh and I’ve made the spaghetti braid too and it was a huge success! I’ve seen a taco version on Pinterest I’ve been wanting to try. Also that picture is amazing!!

Kathryn
Erikandkathrynburton.burton.blogspot.com

22 09 2013
RunningMOMentum

Thanks so much! I’m glad you enjoyed the recipe! I ended up making it twice last week to use up all the ingredients! I haven’t seen the taco version, but that sounds amazing – I’ll have to look for it! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

27 09 2013
{Five on Friday} | Running MOMentum

[…] last week when I said it was School Picture Day for my 14-month-old’s school? Here are the results! Since we’re allowed to keep the […]

Leave a Reply

