Five on Friday!

23 08 2013

It’s Friday! That means “Jeans Day” at work, plus I’m linking up with Darci over at The Good Life Blog for my very first “5 on Friday” post.

Here are 5 things on my mind this Friday!

1} The most stressful 2 moments of my day happen after dropping off and picking up my son at daycare… (which I refer to as “school” or “daycamp”). Without a stoplight, I have to make a left turn across oncoming traffic, cut across FIVE lanes, and get into an immediate right-turn lane for a cross-over street. It’s near-impossible, but a must-do if I want to drive past #2 on this list:

2} Panera Bread is now on my way to work! And it has a drive-thru! My old hometown has one, and my college town has one, and now we do! So I can fantasize about picking up coffee and chocolate pastries as I drive past to get on my interstate exit ramp. Because honestly, who has time (or money) to stop every day? But a girl can dream… as I nurse my home-brewed Dunkin Donuts coffee in a travel mug. (Yum!)

Image

3} Today at school, one of my 2nd graders asked me an awkward question. I believe our convo went something like this:

Student: “I’m going to [a sleepaway weekend grief] camp in a couple weeks! Are you working there again this year?”

Me: “No, I’m so sorry, I can’t go this year! I have a baby at home who needs me at night.”

Student: “Oh [nodding understandingly]… are you breastfeeding?”

Me: [stunned, baffled, and slightly speechless…] “…well…yes…I am…”

Student: “Eeeeewwww, that’s nasty!”

Me: “Well, my son eats other things too, like vegetables and macaroni. How do you know about that stuff?”

Student: “I have a baby cousin who does that. He tried to lick me right there once.”

{But you know what? Maybe someday, years down the road, she’ll remember this fleeting conversation, and maybe it will let her know that it’s not nasty, and in fact, quite okay.}

4} My 13-month-old LOVES everyday tasks and seeing how things work. We check the mailbox together, we watch the washer fill up with water when washing a load of cloth diapers, and he helps me unload the dishwasher. He likes to pull out the utensils one by one and hand them to me; it takes him a full 6 (most precious of) minutes to finish his “chore.” If I’m just opening the dishwasher to load it, he cries, wanting to help unload it.

Image

5} I’m now a “traveling” School Counselor. I gave up my classroom this year in favor of a more private office/counseling space. So I teach classroom guidance on location now, where the students are in their own element. So far it’s been way better than I expected. Teachers have been so welcoming and accommodating, and it only *slightly* feels like I’m being observed by the homeroom teachers if they choose to stay in the room to plan while I’m teaching. And as much as I loved, loved being a tour guide at Colonial Williamsburg and speaking in front of groups of teachers as a kid, it’s much harder when they’re suddenly your peers!

Image

Happy Friday! πŸ™‚

Actions

Information

6 responses

23 08 2013
Erin

Last year was the first year I did not teach in classrooms, and I thought it was going to be awesome. It was, but I am also so happy to be back to my former schedule of going to the classrooms this year. I think you can learn a lot more about the kids (and teachers) by going into the classroom. I felt like I was being observed for like the first 2 years I did it, but seriously they don’t care…they aren’t even listening. They are just so happy to have someone else in there…at least thats what I think πŸ™‚

23 08 2013
RunningMOMentum

Thanks! I think you’re exactly right. I like seeing the kids in their own space and how their classrooms are set up. At least it hasn’t felt as much like all-day observations as I expected… I’m hoping they’ve just been tuning me out! πŸ™‚

23 08 2013
Emma

Love it! Glad you linked up:)

23 08 2013
RunningMOMentum

Thanks! It was fun to think of 5 things. I think I figured it all out, but had to wait to get home to link up, so I’m far down on the list!

23 08 2013
lmsimmons13@gmail.com

Let’s hope that the drive-thru gets better. I went today and it took 10 minutes. Does not a drive thru make.

23 08 2013
RunningMOMentum

So can you order anything from their regular menu in the drive-thru? If that’s the case, 10 minutes isn’t so bad for a nice-quality meal! Especially if it avoids the problem of where to put the baby, drink, and stuff when my buzzer goes off that my tray of food is ready…! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

