My Turn Monday!

5 08 2013

So, sticking to our new dinner schedule, it was my turn to cook tonight! I found these recipes on Pinterest. Pinterest seems to be the only way to motivate me to cook, because there are a million ideas out there, and it makes cooking feel more-artsy/less-mundane.

Hummus Melts: I decided to substitute hummus we already had at home when I saw how much tahini costs, and my recipe only called for one tablespoon of the stuff. Also, I feel like hummus can be hit or miss with the taste, and I like the kind we snack on (Sabra, all flavors).

Zucchini Side

First, I prepped the zucchini side dish (zucchini, olive oil, garlic, tomatoes, salt, pepper, and mozzarella cheese) and baked it, adding basil to the recipe:

IMG_2527

IMG_2534

And while they were baking, I prepped the Hummus Melts (whole-wheat English muffins, hummus, olive oil, baby spinach, garlic, shredded parmesan and mozzarella cheese).

IMG_2529

Then I broiled them. I flipped the oven light on so that I could watch them, and my son practically had his face against the glass, looking in the oven at the melts. (Mom Fail #1). And then after about 60 seconds, for NO REASON, smoke started rolling out of the oven vent on the stovetop, which, until tonight, I didn’t even know existed. (Mom Fails #2 and 3). I felt like I was doing some sort of fireman’s carry as I whisked him away from the oven! But luckily, everything was fine.

IMG_2532The hummus melts were pretty good, but this is probably a recipe I won’t keep. I’m still learning to like hummus, and I like it better on pita chips – it was a bit thick on the melts. My 13-month-old liked the baked zucchini and the cheesy spinach topping on the melts (he actually likes hummus, too!). After dinner, I still had time before the Bachelorette finale :::hangs head in shame:::, so I threw together a Tastefully Simple brownie mix one of my awesome students gave me at the end of the school year:
IMG_2536

I think I’m actually gonna like this new routine! 🙂

And a peek at the photo shoot I did with my toddler this morning, as I try to cram in so much in this last week of summer before work starts again! His personality has just EXPLODED this summer, and I’ve loved every minute of getting to know my sweet baby as a toddler now:

IMG_2418 edit

IMG_2443 edit

IMG_2477 edit

IMG_2506 edit{He’s still my little baby.}

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

