{Five on Friday}

21 02 2014

Friiidaaay! Today’s a little different because I’m attending a Mandt recertification training for work, so I’m not at my school. Linking up with Darci and friends for Five on Friday!

Image

Each of those bands represents a lap run around the blacktop yesterday! Not bad for Day 2!

{one} I started a “Girls on the Run” chapter at my elementary school this season. {2014 Promo Video here!} It was hours and hours of work, planning, and coordinating to start up a team – I think most parents and kids thought it was just a running program, but once I promoted it in my classes and responded to a gazillion phone calls and emails, we recruited the perfect dynamic of girls to launch our site’s first team! My super co-coach and I attended a full-day coach training. The lessons are incredibly easy to follow and deliver, especially with each of our counseling and group facilitating background! Everything is fairly scripted and heavily research-based, starting with a team building discussion that we typically do while sitting in a circle, a warm-up game with an empowering processing time afterward, and a longer, more running-oriented game to build endurance and help the girls feel comfortable with the pace they will use to run a 5k. We always end with giving energy awards and a team cheer. In 12 short weeks (24 program sessions), we’ll have a celebration 5k event with about 1,000 girls from other schools! My school was also fortunate to receive many scholarships from the Girls on the Run organization to cover their registration fees for the program. So if you are a GOTR SoleMate, my girls and I thank YOU so much!!

***

Image

{two} My 19-month-old got his first haircut this week at Snip-Its. And I melt. All his curls are gone and he looks like a big kid!!

***

{three} Did you know you can publish a year of your Facebook activities into MySocialBook?* It looks cool and I want to do it. I got the idea from my sister. Although I’m writing so much more info into my blog than Facebook lately, so maybe I’d rather have my blog printed into a book! Any recommendations for a good company that prints blog posts into a book? (*This is not a sponsored post.)

***

Image

{four} We have a 10-year-old Jack Russell Terrier, Scout, whom we originally rescued from the SPCA after he was found out on the highway. Needless to say, we are very particular about not letting him outside without a leash, since he is a runner. He’s only gotten out once or twice in 5 years, and never while in our care. He always bolts toward the main highway. Yesterday, the combination of wind and heavy snowdrifts against the fence blew our backyard gate open, unbeknownst to me. I let Scout out and didn’t think much of it until my hubby came home 20 minutes later and mentioned that the gate was open and not to let the dog out. Ahhh!! With our toddler, leash, peanut butter jar, and bag of Beggin’ Strips in tow, we scoured the neighborhood (and highway) until we finally found him in someone’s yard.

***

{five} Our Life Group from church meets every Tuesday night, and our series this season is on communication and community-building. Our time is peppered with socials and in-depth conversations, prayer, and Bible study. I’m excited to see where God will lead us and our group dynamic over the next 6 weeks or so as we begin to share our stories…

Actions

Information

3 responses

21 02 2014
Cat

I am so glad you found Scout! The idea of losing my dog is terrifying. I’m so glad he is safe.

21 02 2014
Chrissy

Visiting from the linkup. The Girls on the Run project sounds so cool. What neat idea!

21 02 2014
Liz @ Fitness Blondie

Wow look at all of those bands, there was lots of awesome running going on over there, huh?! I love your son’s haircut – the static in the first picture though is pretty funny. So, Scout – first off, that is amazing you rescued him, but mostly I am so glad you were able to find him SAFELY. Beggin’ strips always do the trick, huh? Ha! I hope you have a great weekend babe, xo!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

